a simple box designed in SCAL

Here is another box I designed in SCAL.

Annie's Tall Ribbon box

You can cut this box using one 12″ by 12″ sheet of card stock on your Cricut Expression.  Score the folds with the inside of the box facing up.  They are obvious by the breaks between the flaps and the edges of the front and back panels.  Fold the middle flaps in first.  You’ll need strong double-sided  tape to hold it together.

The box measures approximately 4 1/4″ tall, 3 1/2″ across, and 2″ deep.  The side panels are 2″ tall.  I put two small holes in the top front and back so you can thread a ribbon through to tie it together.  Please feel free to embellish it as you choose.  This would be perfect for a small gift of food like a bag of jelly beans, trail mix, a few cookies, fudge…I’m sure you can come up with lots of ideas.  I can imagine this box in Christmas colors with a cute Santa, snowflake, or ornament cutout on the front.  If you make this box, please let me see what you come up with!

Hope you can use this.  I might make a taller version later if anyone is interested.

Here is the link to the SCAL 1 file:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?tjynmonhhcw

Posted on August 16, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Ann,
    When I tried to download this great box file, it says it is a Design Studio cut file using George cartridge. I have SCAL and DS, but I need to know which type this file is so I know what software to use to open it.
    Thanks for sharing your time and talent
    Linda

    • HI there!

      Thanks for catching my mistake. I grabbed the wrong link for this article in my blog. I have corrected that now. Please return and get the correct file.
      If you want to use the other file, you need Design Studio. I design in both DS and SCAL.

      Ann

  2. Thank you for your great boxes.
    I bought my expression just to make boxes!! I am learning & just now starting to design.

  3. Ann, this is so cute. I am a new member at SCAL Hints, but haven’t posted anything yet. Just reading all the e-mails. LOL

    We have our family reunion next August and I think something like this would be cute down the middle of the tables for decoration. I may try to find some discontinued wallpaper books to use for the paper instead of having to buy so many 12 x 12 sheets.

    I have a lot of back problems plus had a hip and knee replaced and back surgery so I have to pace myself and take frequent breaks so I am thinking I need to get started early. LOL

    Thank you so much for sharing. It is greatly appreciated.

    Hugs!

  4. What a great box. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. So so cute. TFS. I’m not sure about now but in the past mediafire
    has caused a lot people to end up with viruses.
    Good luck with your blog. I just started mine too. Check it out.
    I started it for a cause which people on your blog might want to take part in.

  6. PJ (Jessie Adams)

    Like this box and would definitely like a taller version, too.

    Thanks for sharing all of your files.

  7. thanks for the great box files!

  8. In the top 3 of my favorite blogs…….. thank you for sharing your files ! : )

  9. Love you stuff!! thans for posting

  10. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Box, Purses, etc. post on Aug. 24, 2009. Thanks again.

  11. HELP This simple box is just what I am looking for daughters 1st Communion, but I can not get it to download, if just keeps going to notepad…any advice?

Leave a comment