more box designs – SCAL

For those of you who do not use Cricut Design Studio, here are some of my box designs using SCAL.  They are SCAL 1 files, so they should open up in either the old or new version of the software.  Since I work on Macs, I cannot get the new version for awhile (sigh.)

Here are the first two boxes.  They are sort of like some of the explosion boxes I have seen, except that they close more completely.  They just fold together and need NO tape – what a concept.  I saw a description of this particular box on the CraftStylish website, so thanks to Jeffery Rudell for the idea.  He covered the boxes in wood-grain paper, but I chose to use two sided card stock instead.  His photo did not match the measurements of their drawn pattern, so I decided to make a pattern in SCAL myself and alter it to fit what I thought would work.  Each box takes two 12″ by 12″ sheets of two-sided card stock, and you need the Cricut Expression to cut the files.

Annie's special boxes A

I have two versions of this design.  The smaller box (on the top of the photo) has a 2 inch square base and is 3 inches tall.

Here are the links to the files for that box:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jylduyky5nn

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?lnzjkiyax2m

The larger box (on the bottom of the photo) has a 3 inch square base and is 3 inches tall.

Here are the links for the files for that box:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zujmwzwjjzg

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?tjzrwtonnxk

To let you see how the box opens up, here is another photo of the boxes, with the smaller one open.

Annie's Special Boxes OpenI think that you will find the folds obvious, but just in case you don’t, they go like this:

Cut the box from two sided patterned or solid paper.  Decide which side you want to show on the outside of the box bottom, and use the other pattern on the outside of the lid.  With the inside of the box facing you, score twice across the entire box, rotate 90 degrees and score again.  Fold the scored lines toward the inside of the box, squeeze the sides together, and the box will basically fold the corners in by itself.

The lid is a bit more complicated, but with a bit of experimentation, you will get the idea of scoring and folding and tucking the tabs in.  You will notice that I put a tiny square cutout in the lid.  That is to show you where to start tucking in the flaps of the lid.

Here are photos of my SCAL files for the bottom and top of the 2 inch box so you can get the idea.  Since you want the width of the box to be 2 inches, your two parallel scoring lines will two inches apart.  Just think of the scoring lines being 1 inch on either side of the X and Y axis of the screen.

SCAL screen for Special box

SCAL screen for Annie's Box topYou can see the scoring lines on the screen, but I did not put perforations in the pattern – I do not like to do that.

The box top is more complicated to fold, but I’m sure you’ll figure it out.  It’s a neat puzzle.  The first set of scoring lines are a little more than two inches apart, so the top will fit over the bottom.  You can see where I left you room to score in the tiny spaces between the flaps and the tabs.   The other scoring lines are about 1 inch apart, but make sure that you adjust for the tabs and do not score them below the edge of each tab. I just used the tabs as a guide and scored on the side of them.  The next scoring lines are about one inch from the last ones.  The last scoring lines leave two inches to tuck in the inside of the lid, so it goes all the way across the lid and supports it well.  Fold the innermost scores toward the inside of the lid, the next set the same way, and the last set the opposite way so they tuck inside the lid.  As you fold the sides of the lid to the center, please make sure to tuck the small tabs in.

Once you get the box done, you will notice that it is quite sturdy.  I haven’t filled it yet, but I’m thinking that the 3 inch box could hold a cupcake and support it very well.

Please try these and let me know how you do.  I think these were some of the most interesting boxes I’ve ever tried, and I hope you will like them as much as I do.

I almost forgot – the small box paper is from Martha Stewart and the large box paper is from a collection of Best Occasions coordinating card stock, available at Wallmart.

Posted on August 16, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thank you fellow Mac user. Yes SIGH that we have to wait for SCAL.

    These boxes are perfect for storing pens and crayons for my little ones.

  2. Sally Weatherholt

    Thank you for sharing the boxes. I love to cut my own boxes to put gifts in. We exchange gifts for Birthdays at my work and it is so much fun when people like the box better then the gift.

  3. Very nice boxes thanks for sharing!

  4. So glad you took pity on us cartridgeless people.
    LOLOL
    Thank you!
    **U**
    Nance

  5. Great Boxes, nice job Ann. Thank you for sharing.

  6. These are great! Thanks!

  7. I really like this set of boxes, too. I haven’t seen any like this that open like the explosion boxes and I can see why these would be stronger.

    Thank you for sharing, Ann. Maybe someday I will be able to design items like this.

    I have designed templates for boxes, candy wraps, etc. in Photo Impact and taught computer craft classes at a digital scrap site, but haven’t mastered Inkscape to that extent yet.

    Hugs!

  8. Fabulous ! Thank you for sharing them! : )

  9. Thanks for sharing your files. They are great!

Leave a Reply

