framed butterfly – new svg file for you

I’ve been exploring the possibilities of using butterflies in my card designs and came up with this one:

simple but lovely

I’m back to using recycled materials in my cards.  The framed butterfly is made from my favorite, a USPS overnight envelope, and the black mat is a piece of a shopping bag that I ran through my crimping tool.  It has a few small areas that are slightly scarred and I actually think that adds to the charm :).

OTHER MATERIALS and TOOLS: DCWV Glitter Card Stock in Aqua, Staples 110lb card stock in yellow (card base), Scor-Tape to adhere the various layers (of course!) metal studs from Joann’s, and my trusty Xyron to adhere the butterfly cut to the black mat.

If you’d like the svg file for the framed butterfly, please CLICK HERE and help yourself.

I can almost imagine an actual butterfly in flight, one of the true wonders of nature.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in free SCAL 2 files, Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, new life for old materials: recycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can see this done in beautiful shimmer paper on a black background!! Thanks for sharing!!

  2. I love using found (free) objects in my crafts, even better when they come out like your butterfly did, not looking like recycled object.

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | Blog | Cutting Freebies for Craft (large): Friday, 26 Aug 2011

Leave a Reply

