christmas in august – it’s never too early!

I love summer.  I look forward to the relaxed pace of the summer months, the warmth, the extra hours of sunlight.  Even though we’ve had many days this year with temperatures over 90 degrees, I still love it.  But I still think of what the future brings.  By the time the holidays come around, I’ll be so busy with concerts that I may not get to my Christmas cards until after they are over (my usual state of being.)  So, here is my attempt at starting the process early.

Here is my first Christmas card design for this year.

My contemporary take on tradition

I used ribbon weaving on this card, along with a window effect for the green of the tree.  The card is designed as a 4 1/2″ square panel that uses 1/4″ wide ribbon on both sides. In case you’re wondering, the mats are 4 1/2″, 4 7/8″ and 5 3/8″ square. The entire card is 5 1/2″ square (my favorite size even though it costs more to mail.)

SUPPLIES: Staples 110 lb white card stock, American Crafts Foil card stock (red, green and silver), red 1/4″ ribbon, 1/4″ wide Scor-Tape to secure the layers, Jolee’s Bling (the red star).  No recycled materials this time but I’m getting to it.  Stay tuned for more cards in this series.

SPECIAL TOOLS: a brayer to make sure the layers make even contact with each other.

This is a very easy card to make but I think it looks very nice when it’s all done.

Please GO HERE to get the svg file for the front panel.  Enjoy!

I can already hear Christmas carols in my head.

Posted on August 12, 2011, in free SCAL 2 files, Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love the simplicity of this card. Thank you so much for the download.
    Irene

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | Blog | Cutting Freebies for Craft (large): Saturday, 13 Aug 2011

Leave a Reply

