weavng in and out

Last week, I did a quick post with a file that had the potential for ribbon weaving.  This method caught my attention a few months ago when I did a Valentine design that was warmly received by several people who follow my blog.  (Thanks for commenting!)  This week, I spent some time exploring and here are two new files I came up with.

I mounted each panel on a series of mats so you can see the “finished” look.  I’m not sure what I will do with these yet.  I could use them for cards or even make a trivet.  I thought I’d try one as the top panel of a gift box. I think these would look lovely as a collection of small framed pictures on a wall.

The first design features a medium size stitch panel that can accommodate 1/4″ wide ribbon (on sale at Michaels this week!).  If you size the panel to be 4.75″ square, the slots will be just right for this size ribbon.

A rainbow of color!

The second design is a variation of the first.  The “stitches” are now shorter and create a different look.  Again, please size the panel to be 4.75″ on each side.

Tiny spots of bright hues!

To secure the ends of the ribbons to the back side of the card stock, I ran a piece of 1/4″ wide Scor-Tape along the outside edges of the first and last slots in each row.  It is very easy to anchor the tape this way.  Be sure to gently tug the end of each ribbon so it lies flat on the right side of the card.

This is a very inexpensive project.  The needed supplies are listed below:

  • One 6″ by 6″ piece of card stock of your choice
  • Eight 8″ pieces of 1/4″ wide ribbon (NOTE: I left a long tail on the ribbon while weaving to make it easier to manipulate.)
  • Two 4 1/2″ strips of Scor-Tape (or adhesive of your choice).

You might use a piece from a lightweight gift box or stiff shopping bag as your base.  My white base started life as a USPS overnight envelope.  I’m going to try a shoe box one of these days and finally use my deep cut blade.

Here are both svg files, free for your enjoyment.  HERE is the medium stitch file.  HERE is the small stitch version.

Now that I’ve done these two designs, my mind is starting to think of new possibilities for this technique.  How about ribbon embroidered Christmas ornaments?  Stay tuned and see what I come up with.  If you’d like to suggest an idea, please do!  I love new design adventures.

Posted on July 11, 2011, in crafts with love, free SCAL 2 files, Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love this design, they would make great wall decorations in a room with white walls.

    I think i’ll use this file to decorate my hallway.

    Thank you

  2. Jeanette Block

    Thank you so much for these files…I can’t wait to try them! They have inspired me! I have been thinking of making some cutting files similar to the papuela templates. If you have not seen them google papuela. I bet you could do a great job on these designs – better than me!

  3. Thank you so much.

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | Blog | Cutting Freebies for Craft (large): Tuesday, 12 Jul 2011

Leave a Reply

