spinning round and round

In the last week, I’ve been making cards for various celebrations, including my niece’s high school graduation. While I was at it, I designed a new svg file.  This is always fun to do, especially since I can now generate svg files with ease in SCAL2. This design somehow brings a spinning wheel to mind. I can almost see it move.

Here’s my latest card:

See how the wheel pops off the card front?

Would you like this svg file?  Get it HERE

And HERE is the scut2 file if you’d rather have that.

I mounted the wheel on a simple circle mat that is the same diameter as the wheel. I’m sure you can create your own in SCAL2 once you make the cut the perfect size for your card. I used pop dots to create depth in my card design.

MATERIALS: DCWV Shimmer Stack (purple), American Crafts Specialty Paper Pearl (white mat), Best Occasions Metallic Paper Pack (high gloss gold), American Crafts Specialty Paper Foil (textured gold), Staples 110 lb card stock (cream colored base), Scor-Tape, Mini Pop Dots.

TOOLS: Xyron 510 (to make the wheel into a sticker)

NOTES: I actually used the back of the white Pearl stock by accident and decided I liked the texture.  I used a toothpick to make sure the glue was removed from all the holes in this design before adhering it to the mat.

Now all I need to do is pop a mortar board embellishment in the middle of the front and it will be set to go.

Graduations bring back wonderful memories.

Posted on June 13, 2011, in crafts with love, free SCAL 2 files, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Looks awesome Ann! I’m so glad you are having time to create with paper right now.

  2. Thank you so much for this post. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Elements post on Jun. 14, 2011. Thanks again.

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | Blog | Cutting Freebies for Craft (large): Tuesday, 14 Jun 2011

Leave a Reply

