it’s a small world after all

I finally did it!  I converted one of my box design files into a svg file.

For those of you who design in Inkscape or Illustrator, this may not seem like a big deal.  But I design in SCAL 2 and it hasn’t been easy for me to export files as svgs that have overlapping elements within the design.  I finally figured out a way to do that the other night, and here is my first file.

Here is a photo that has one of my original short gable boxes on the left and a new box that I cut from the svg file on the right.  The left box is 4 1/2 inches tall.  The right box is 2 3/4 inches tall.

These have a heart cutout on the front of the box.

Here is another photo that show a side view of both boxes.

Wow - what a difference!

You may ask why would you bother to create a tiny box?  And, what would you put in it?  How about a single piece of delicious chocolate, a pair of dazzling earrings, or a sparkling gold chain?  The list is endless.  I love gifts that are uniquely packaged and must be opened in order to reveal the surprise inside.

Several people had written to me and asked if I could convert my box design files to svgs so they could cut it on a smaller mat or create custom sizes.  Now I can, so you can.

Please help yourself…and enjoy!  I’d love to see what you make with this file.

Annie’s Short Gable Box

I’ll do more conversions and post them soon.  Thanks for putting a bug in my ear and an idea in my head.  I love solving puzzles and this was a fascinating one.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in free SCAL 2 files, New adventures in creativity. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. CUTE! I love this box. I can see this getting a lot of use! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for this post. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Box, Purses, etc. post on Jun. 02, 2011. Thanks again.

  3. This is so cute. Thank you.

  4. I love boxes and these are just great! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

