the colors of spring

I finally got some time to design and craft some new cards last night and today.  It felt so good to be working with paper and metals and other stuff.  It made me calm.

Since it’s spring here is DC, I was drawn to the colors of the flowers around the neighborhood.  Of course, I used some recycled materials as well as commercial supplies.  The first card has a white overlay, courtesy of USPS overnight mail.  I designed the overlay in SCAL2.  I finally learned how to export my files as svgs – YAY!!!

HERE is the svg file.  HERE is the scut file. Enjoy!

WARNING: This cut take a bit of work to clear out all the tiny holes, but it’s really worth it when you’re done.

Of course, I had to use some glitter in the design.  The American Crafts Specialty Glitter card stock in emerald green was just perfect.  The purple card stock is from the DCWV Shimmer Stack.

The next card makes use of a recycled tea can for the large silver mat.  I embossed it with Cuttebug’s new 5″ by 7″ “Dots” folder.  I’m sure I’ll use that one A LOT.  The pink mat is also from the DCWV Shimmer Stack.  The top silver overlay is made from QuickKutz adhesive metal sheets. They are fantastic!  I embossed it with a Sizzix folder that has adorable small flowers on it.  I accidentally “debossed” the metal sheet and decided I liked it that way.

And here’s the best part.  I finally figured out how to make the edges of my metal mat adhere better to the layer beneath it.  I still use Scor-Tape (love it!)  Even with the strong adhesive that this product has, I’ve had some problems with the edges of the stiff metal coming up from the card stock.  After I adhered each layer, I turned the card over and used my brayer to make sure all the edges were in direct contact with the previous layer.  Using the brayer also help make sure the metal can panel was flat and eliminated gaps.  Now, why didn’t I think of that before?

Posted on May 8, 2011, in crafts with love, Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, new life for old materials: recycling. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Both of your cards are very very pretty!!!! I’m sure it felt so wonderful to just play!!!!!

  2. Oh I love the cards! I like to recycle things. Could I get the scal2 file for that neat looking medallion? Thanks.

  3. I love the colors of spring file! Could I get it as a SVG???

    Thanks!

  4. I would LOVE a copy of this SVG — it is so pretty 🙂

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | Blog | Cutting Freebies for Craft (large): Mon, 9 May 2011

Leave a Reply

