rain, rain go away

April was a banner month around here if you’re a gardener.  The rain was frequent and plentiful.  The good news is that we haven’t had to water our new front yard, and the plants that the landscape designer put in last fall are now big and healthy.  The bad news is that I can’t leave the house without an umbrella.

Crafting is a relaxing rainy day activity.  I bought some QuicKutz adhesive metal sheets to experiment with more designs that use this medium.  I love the idea of not having to worry about whether the metal panels will stick to my cards, but found that this metal is thinner than the soda cans I had been using.  That’s good because it is flexible, but bad because any staggered layers will bulge underneath it.  I’ll work on my card designs to avoid that in the future.

I also bought some new embossing folders from a British company called Indentz.  So far, I’m positively impressed with the quality and the embossing is very sharp on the metal sheets.  The one I used on this card reminds me of raindrops.

I used a variety of card stock on this card, mostly leftovers from other projects.  The blue foil is from American Crafts and the magenta foil is Best Occasions.  I wish that Wallmart still had the craft department it used to have.  Their Best Occasions paper and embellishments were wonderful.  The metal dots are from Joann’s.

The white mat is part of a package that some craft supplies came in.  Might as well use it instead of throwing it away :).

Here’s the result of this experiment.  I hope you like it!

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, new life for old materials: recycling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

