time to say thank you

Each day, I find a new reason to be thankful for the volunteers of the organization that I administer.  The past two weeks were filled with constant work on a huge grant proposal.  I would never have made it without two special members of our Board who created budgets and cut through red tape so I could concentrate on writing the proposal.  I was thinking about them when I designed this card.

The card has two recycled elements: the green and khaki mats are pieces of shopping bags from Eddie Bauer and Nordstrom.  I cut the bags up and ran pieces through a crimper to get the texture I wanted. The gold mat is from Wausau and the pale yellow mat is from DCWV.  The result is a different color palette for me, but I really like it.

I created the captioned panel as my take on subway art and printed it on my Epson 1400 printer.  I used tiny foam squares to pop the panel off the main card and add more depth to the design.

OTHER SUPPLIES: Scor-Tape, Staples 110lb cream card stock

TOOLS: paper cutter

The best part about designing cards is the ability to make people feel appreciated in such a personal way.  So there, Hallmark.

Posted on March 18, 2011, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, new life for old materials: recycling, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh I am loving your usage of bags and such- How creative!! This is beautiful as well! *Hugs*

Leave a Reply

