a little out of season

I was searching for digital graphics the other night and was very taken with one that displayed a group of pine trees.  I ended up using the graphic as my focal point on this card:

Once again, I used recycled materials for part of the elements.  The black mat had a former life as a heavyweight glossy page of a magazine. The red mat was part of a bag from the salon where I get my hair done (yes, the one with the red door.)  Crimping both of them brought a wonderful texture and strength to the pieces.  The black page had a white core that I decided to leave as is – it kind of looks a bit distressed.

The khaki mat is from DCWV’s Shimmer Stack, the black ribbon is from Michaels, and the red gems are from Target.  I lifted the “framed” graphic with foam squares.

OTHER SUPPLIES: Scor-Tape

TOOLS: Sizzix Big Shot, Spellbinders Classic Rectangles Nestabilities to frame and emboss the graphic.

Again, this is not my usual style, but an interesting project nevertheless.  Someone in the part of my family who celebrates Christmas will like this, I’m sure.

Posted on March 18, 2011, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, New adventures in creativity, new life for old materials: recycling. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful card Ann!!! *Hugs*

  2. Those trees made a beautiful card and it doesn’t have to yell holidays either – add a bird, butterfly or bee and say Happy Spring! Very nice and useful card, Ann! Diann

  3. What a beautiful card…I love the crispness of it!!!!

  4. I just came over from the Craft Edge Forms and was looking through your blog. I love this card!!! I tend to make cards with black, red & white elements quite often (they are my fav). Beautiful work. BTW, thank you for the files. =)

Leave a Reply

