it’s the holiday season

I finally got to sit down and design most of my Christmas and other holiday cards last week.

Because I am a singer as well as the executive director of a large chorus, the weeks before Christmas are usually filled with non-stop rehearsals and performances.  The only change this year was that I did not do any television shows.  I missed that a bit, but had plenty of other activities to occupy my mind and voice.  I was part of a small group that sang four National Symphony Orchestra pops concerts with Marvin Hamlisch.  For those who may not be familiar with his work, he wrote the famous musical A CHORUS LINE.  I have been privileged to know Maestro Hamlisch for several years and savored another wonderful experience watching a master showman put together a concert that appealed to all ages.  At the same time, I produced The City Choir of Washington’s annual Music for Christmas concert, a heartwarming program of Christmas music that ranged from classical to jazz to a little gospel thrown in for good measure.  We were fortunate enough to have as our musical partners a superb group of high school singers who literally stole the show with their stunning artistry.  Our December performances ended with The City Singers performing for an audience of guests at the Willard Hotel on December 23.  There’s nothing like hearing Christmas music when you’re away from home for the holidays, and our listeners expressed their joy with enthusiastic applause.

And now to my personal reward of the season: late night crafting.  Here are some of my favorite designs from this year.

I’ve had this ribbon (from Michael’s) since last year but hadn’t figured out how to best use it. I was exploring options on SCAL 2 and it suddenly occurred to me to take advantage of the graphic element presented in the ribbon.  I haven’t done much designing in SCAL 2 yet but this was really a fun exercise.

I’ve included a side view below so you can see how I created some depth with this design.

I used Pop Dots to mount the second cutout directly above a duplicate after adhering the first one to the card with the help of my Zyron.

The next card also used a tree motif, but this time it was based on the little squiggly ones in the ribbon I chose. In this case, I used a total of four cutouts (two of each color) and kept adding them on top of each other to build a stack.

I actually started the first card by making a single tree based on the proportions of the trees in the red ribbon, and had cut both red and green versions of the tree and a shadow.  I later used the negative cuts of both of these for this card. Here are the resulting cards.

My second theme this year was jingle bells.  After having sung literally dozens of arrangements over the years (including my own version that the City Singers did last year), it seemed like the right thing to do.  Martha Stewart had just the right punch to make this happen.  Here are some of my card designs that used that punch. For the first of the bell designs, I also used my new QuicKutz Geometric Circles embossing folder (on a soda can.)  I’ve been wanting that folder for weeks and finally gave in to my craving one night on Ebay. (See card below on the right.)

The second card has ribbons of different colored foil with jingle bells mounted with more Pops Dots. (See card on the left)

The last card in this series used a different color palette as well as three different MS punches.  The stars were created with a new type of punch from MS that can be used to punch anywhere on a page – a VERY neat idea.  I also embossed the shiny background with a Cuttlebug Snowflakes folder.  The combination was a bit more embellished than I usually do but it seemed to work. (Below on the right)

My last card on this post was inspired by watching the snow fall very late the other night.  The white glittered card stock made me think of the MS punch that is called “Rose Window.” (Below on the left)

So there they are, finally ready to go in the mail to some people I hold dear.  Designing and creating these cards made me relax and think of all the things I am grateful for this holiday season. Most of all, I am grateful for the wonderful life I have and the love that I can share with so many family and friends throughout the country.

May your stars burn brightly and your joy ring true.  Happy holidays, everyone.

Posted on December 28, 2010, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, home for the holidays, midnight creations, mindless ramblings, New adventures in creativity, new life for old materials: recycling, observations, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. These are so nice – Thank you so much for sharing them with us ❤

  2. Lovely cards!

  3. These are really awesome Ann. I’m so glad you shared them. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

