Spanning the seasons

Here are a few cards I have made lately,  Each one uses at least one recycled element or leftover craft item.  With all the supplies I have collected and my growing skills at re-purposing materials, I could go for years without buying anything new…but who wants to do that?

For the top layer of the first card, I used a piece of an old cream colored presentation folder.  Since it had a slick surface the embossing worked very well.  The folder comes from the QuicKutz Thanksgiving collection of 2″ by 2″ embossing folders.  The orange panel was part of a gift box that I embossed using the QuicKutz Diamond folder.  The yellow ribbon, jewels, and puffy leaf sticker were leftovers from trips to Michaels.  I’m a regular there :). The brown mat is from Canson’s Expressions Paper Pad.

Click on this photo to enlarge the photo and see the embossed pumpkin.

The second card contains a Martha Stewart graphic that I especially like (available for download from her website.)  It says “quiet winter scene” to me.  The blue background paper is also from Martha Stewart: her Classical Botanical Paper Pad. The metal flower was left over from a Target collection.  Too bad the craft department in my local Target has all but disappeared.  The silver blue mirror card is from Walmart’s Best Occasions Metallic Paper Pack.  Another craft department bites the dust, at least in my area.

How peaceful this looks.

The last card is an early Valentine.  I used a Martha Stewart heart punch to make use of a sample Christmas card I received in the mail, then arranged the hearts in a sequence to showcase the different patterns of colors.  I love geometric designs.  You could repeat the pattern with a rainbow of solid colored hearts or metallic hues, and it would look stunning.  The shiny black background is a presentation folder that I got at a recent media event.  The silver mat is from the American Crafts Specialty Paper Foil Collection.

My goemetry teacher would have been proud.For a change, I used a red card stock for the card base.  I think I’ll use my Unibal Signa pen to write inside.

So, now I need a spring and summer card to complete the year, I guess.

Posted on November 18, 2010, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, new life for old materials: recycling. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great cards Ann! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Ann – your cards are absolutely gorgeous! I love the one with the quiet winter scene – I think that has to be my favorite. Each card is just so unique, so beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  3. LOVE your cards! I am not usually one for Valentines Doings, being single, but I just LOVE that heart card!! *Hugs*

Leave a Reply

