pick a card, any card

Card making is addicting.  Besides the obvious benefits of not having to support my local card store, there is the distinct satisfaction of creating something new and unique for special people.  Lately, I’ve been experimenting with found and recycled materials.  I’ve also been using my new favorite toy (my Big Shot) and my ever growing collection of embossing folders and texture plates.  The results have been very satisfying.

My basic list of supplies includes Staples 110lb card stock in white and various pastel colors.  I love this stuff – it creases well with my Scor Pal, is durable, and CHEAP!  I also use Scor Tape to attach the various layers and find it an irreplaceable part of my crafts.  I’m starting to use a tape runner for the interior portions of the mats but still think that the Scor Tape holds the perimeters best.  Perhaps if I watch Stamp TV more, I’ll have the confidence to use my Glue Glider Pro more often.  DISCLAIMER: I do not work for any craft supply companies and am only noting these products for informational purposes.

Here are some of my latest efforts in middle of the night crafting:

a card for an artistic director who inspires his singers

(LEFT) I LOVE the Sizzix Texturz plates!  They are so easy to use and I can control the depth of the embossing by choosing the appropriate material and running it through multiple times (or not.)  I wish Walmart still carried Best Occasions card stock, though.  When I run out of the extra Metallic Paper Packs I bought awhile ago, I’ll have to find some new source for this type of material.  The blue mat was from a Sparkling Stack by Wausau Paper. I used a Martha Stewart punch for the dragonflies. The metal word was from the Making Memories Emotions collection.

(BELOW)  To make this card, I used the lovely Cuttlebug Oriental Screen folder on an aluminum soda can. The softly coordinating silver blue mat is from the Best Occasions Metallic Stack (got to find more of this stuff!).  The embossed grape mat is from Expressions Papercraft by Canson.  The turquoise mat is from a DCWV stack in my stash.  The silver ribbon is from a large roll I bought years ago at the after holiday sales in a department store.

Why throw old soda cans away when you can make something beautiful?

(BOTTOM PHOTO) The final card in this post uses several recycled materials, including an embossed plastic panel from a grocery store baked goods container.  (The cinnamon rolls were delicious.)  I used my Cuttlebug Herringbone folder to put a deep emboss on it.  The magenta mat is from American Crafts Foil Stack, one of my very favorite collections.  (If you sense a theme of metallic materials in my designs, you’re right on target.)  The bright fuchsia ribbon is from Michael’s.  The best part of this card was a sudden midnight inspiration: a moon shape from another soda can, cut with a Fiskars Squeeze 2″ circle punch, and embossed with my Cuttlebug Forest Branches folder.  I used small clear Zots to attach the acrylic piece to the mat; but I’m not quite satisfied with the effect and would love your suggestions on other materials I might use to do that.

Please tell me how you like my efforts and let me know if you have any suggestions for new cards in this same style.  I tend to design cards that might be classified as clean and simple (or not depending on your point of view.)  I usually use one focal point or detail but occasionally two smaller areas of focus.  I love purple and pink  (could you guess?) but have recently designed cards using other color palettes.

Now all I have to do is find just the right person to send these to.

A peaceful picture of tranquility

Posted on August 10, 2010, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. All of these creations are very pretty!!!!!! GREAT to see you posting again!!!!

  2. I think you did a great job. All of the cards are beautiful. I do like the idea of simplicity along with the fact that the card can then be used in any way you choose.

    My only suggestion to you would be to incorporate some lime green with the bright pink/fuchsia. Those are the “in” colors right now and do look really nice together. Also, you could use the lime green with bright ocean blue, those are also nice bright combos.

    Keep up the great work and thank you for sharing!
    Linda M

  3. Annie – what wonderful cards – bright and cheerful. I love the use of all the recyclables in your cards. Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

