copper creations

Here are a few more cards I have designed lately.  In each case, I started by looking through my scraps and trying to use the leftovers in the best way I could.  The unifying design element in this set is a copper colored card stock from Best Occasions Metallic Paper collection.  This paper is irresistible to me and I use it often.  This group of cards also is a departure from my usual color palette.  There is no pink, no purple, no red whatsoever.  For these designs, I used the colors of my family’s home in Tucson: peach, turquoise, aqua, copper and cream.  Here they are:

Digital stamps are a clever substitute for a drawing.

I made the digital stamp on the first card from a free graphic I found on the Net, and printed it on Staples 110lb cream card stock.  The background paper on this card came from the Sunlit Summer Digital Paper Pack from Gina K Designs.  I embossed the copper mat with Cuttlebug’s Forest Branches folder.

The next card also has a digital stamp from the same of source of Western images as the first card.  It reminded me of an old movie where the hero rides off into the sunset at the end.  The small peach mat is from the DCWV Brights stack and the glittery turquoise mat is from the DCWV Citrus Stack.  The card base is also from the Brights Stack.

This image makes me think of my friend's ranch in Tucson.

The last card has a greenish blue base of Staples 110lb cover stock, a green paper from Canson’s Expressions Papervraft collection, a neutral cream mat from a Best Occasions Metallic Paper pack, and deep turquoise metal accents (Best Occasions.)  Using Inkscape, I altered an svg I found on the Net (Paulo’s?) so it was a bit simpler. The resulting cut reminds me of a Western mandala.  Through trial and error, I am learning how to use that program.  The mandala is the one element of this set that I used my Cricut to create.  Everything else was cut by hand or with the aid of my trusty paper cutter.

The tiny metal buttons really make this card pop.

I think it’s about time to go home for a visit.

Posted on August 10, 2010, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Since I spent last winter in Tucson, I could easily go back. Love your cards, and you captured the hues of the southwest in all your cards. Love the rider – does remind me of an old western! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Your cards are fantastic. I love how you use the digital stamps.
    GREAT job!!!

  3. Oh Ann….these are GORGEOUS ma’am!!!!!! You’ve done such a beautiful job on these!!!

  4. Great new cards Ann!! and Love the FUSIA ones below too!!

  5. The cards are great! I use to buy Best Occasions Metallic Paper Packs in the U.S. at Walmart for two or three years Unfortunately they don’t carry it anymore? Does anybody know where I could get it. I am so disappointed as I used this paper for a lot of wonderful things. The Blues, pinks and turquoise were amazing. I don’t want just silver and gold. If you can help me, I would be so appreciated.

Leave a Reply

