Metallica

I finally started playing with the metal from the Pepsi cans my husband brought home from his office for me.  This is one result.

a quiet but strong statement of love

I cut the can apart and ran the metal through my Sissix Big Shot with my Cuttlebug Heart Blocks embossing folder.  The material cuts easily with ordinary scissors and I trimmed the edges with my paper cutter.  I used Scor Tape to mount the metal on a background of scrap card stock from the DCWV Mettallic Stack.  The color is called “Penny” and it does look like one.  The only new part of this card was half a sheet of Staples 110 lb. card stock in cream.  This is an A2 card (4 1/4″ wide by 5 1/2″ tall.)

I decided to highlight one of the hearts with my Bic Mark-It in Rambunctious Red.  It is not the neatest job I ever did, but then, I could never color exactly within the lines at school, anyway.  (And it was 3:00 a.m. when I did this.)  I love the effect – almost like enamel.

You have my heaet, my love.I decided to keep this card clean and simple.  Of course, the point of this is the red heart, and I hope my husband gets it.  The greeting inside will read “You have my heart always.”

So, what do you think?  I can’t wait to experiment with other embossing folders.

Posted on May 3, 2010, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. How did you conceal the sharp edges? Did you turn them under or what???

    • sopranoannie

      The metal from the can is very light aluminum. I cut the edges with my paper cutter and just put it on without any further treatment. I ran the blade over the edges several times when I cut it and there do not seem to be any sharp places.

  2. Well aren’t you the clever little girl.
    I love this!
    Thank you for sharing your idea.
    **U**
    Nance

  3. I love the metal embossed…I have cut some scallop circles and painted them with Tim Holtz inks and love the effect. You did a good job..Thanks for sharing.

  4. UMMMMMM This is AWESOME! You did a great job! I’m always so scared to run things of substance through my embosser thingey! LOL! Maybe I’ll try it out!

  5. Very cool. I love the effect!

  6. Ann, I’ve done this before and it is so fun. You did a super job with yours and I love the red heart….I’m glad you gave this a try! Diann

  7. Wow, that is really cool! Amazing what you can do with everyday items…

Leave a Reply

