barnum and bailey in SCAL

Last June, I saw a wonderful version of an animal crackers box on Tracey’s blog, Inky Doodles (http://inky-doodles.blogspot.com/).  It got me thinking about how I could translate the design into a SCAL file.  I designed the box and also made a file for the overlays that would go on each panel.  I made one and gave it away to a friend (filled with animal crackers, of course!)  Then I promptly forgot I had done the files.

Fast forward to yesterday.  Betty of Crafting Fun Time (http://craftingfuntime.blogspot.com/) posted a photo on her blog of the animal cracker box she had made using Tracey’s tutorial.  A few of the members of my craft forum asked if there was a SCAL file out there, and of course there was!  In the meantime, Betty did an awesome job of making a svg of the box.  So far, I have not really learned to create svgs of boxes and just design scut files right in SCAL 1.  (Some day I’ll learn to do that, I hope.)

Since I promised to post the file by today, here it is.  Please excuse the hurried photos.  I have to leave for a concert at The Kennedy Center late this afternoon, so I’m rushing to get this done.  I cut it last night just to make sure it works.  I may tweak it a bit when I get home to make sure it is just as I want it.

Please help yourself to my Cracker Box:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mwzjrkcwixy

Here is the file for the overlays for each panel.

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?knmgd5efww1

“Just the facts, ma’am.”

I used kraft card stock for the base of the box and some lively striped paper for the overlays.  If you use a patterned paper for the overlays, I suggest that you pay attention to the direction of the pattern when placing it on your cutting mat.  You need one 12″ by 12″ sheet of card stock for the box and one 12″ by 12″ sheet of card stock for the trim.

I used my Crop-A-Dile to punch holes in the sides and insert eyelets.  I threaded 1/4″ ribbon through the holes.  I also punched a hole in the middle of where the circular notch is in the flap for the brad.  A large brad makes a perfect closure for the box and the front flap slips right in back of the brad.  I used some old acrylic packing material for the window.  I found it neater to place the window material between the box base and the overlay.

Here is a picture of where the scorelines should be made (the blue lines.)  The horizontal scoreline at the bottom is 1″ from the edge.

Do you have a Scor-Pal?

Now, I need to look in my “Next Blog Post” file and see what else is in there.  I think I have a stash of designs that need to be posted.

Got to put animal crackers on my shopping list.  Love em.

Posted on April 24, 2010, in midnight creations, New adventures in creativity, sisterhood of the traveling boxes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh how wonderful is this.
    What a sweet post too about Betty.
    I think the photos are great!
    What do you do at the Kennedy Center?
    We want to know!
    Thanks again hon,
    **U**
    Nance

    • (When I’m not busy being an Executive Director) I’m a concert producer; but tonight I’m just attending a concert in which a friend is performing. I usually don’t get to do that (sit in the audience, I mean), so it’s a real treat. I’ll be singing at the KC for four performances next month and I’m the producer for a huge concert in June there.

  2. oooo thank you! So glad ya did one with the oval..saved me from buying a 15.00 punch woot!

  3. Thank you so much for this post. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Box, Purses, etc. post on Apr. 24, 2010. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

