reinvention: giving new life to leftovers

Several weeks ago, Lindsay of The Frugal Crafter (www.thefrugalcrafter.wordpress.com/) had a great idea about designing cards using leftover materials.  After looking at my huge stash of partially used card stock, paper, embellishments, ribbon, die cuts, etc., I decided to experiment and see what happened.  Here are a few of the results.  I even used the tiny scraps left over after I punched out medallions from scrap paper on one of the cards – it reminded me of confetti.

By the way, if you want a very cool embossed background for a card, try using the Cuttlebug Herringbone folder.  I used that folder for the first card displayed in this post.  The resulting texture is a wonderful effect, especially if you use shiny card stock like I did.

This was a great activity – thanks for the challenge.  Please leave me a comment and tell me what you think of the cards.

Posted on April 17, 2010, in challenges, midnight creations, New adventures in creativity. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Fabulous new cards, Ann!! You made great uses of your bits and pieces 🙂

  2. Nice job of putting your tidbits to work!

  3. Wonderful cards! I really like what you did. I think the Cuttlebug is great for embossing. Great job — thanks for sharing. Kerry P.

  4. Looks great. All of your new stuff does. Love the cards. Really love the embossing.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention reinvention: giving new life to leftovers « what's next? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

