Daily Archives: February 4, 2010

for the DS fans out there – my cube candy box

Many people responded to my last post and asked me to do a Design Studio version of my cube box with the heart tabs.  Last night, I redid the original design in Design Studio.  Once I design something in one program, it is pretty easy to make it work in the other, as long as I can find the same shapes.  I used the GBS cartridge since it has everything I needed.  If you don’t have this cartridge and work with shapes a lot, I highly recommend it.

One of the best things about Design Studio is the ability to line up the different parts of your design.  Someone told me that SCAL 2 has that.  That would definitely make me get that version of the software now.  If you want to cut out different colored hearts to put on top of the heart tabs, you will find four of those on the second page of the DS file.  Multiple pages within a file is another thing I heard is an added feature of SCAL 2.  (Got to get that order placed soon.)

Who says you can't give a man a rose?

I did a test cut and used some card stock that might be appropriate for a male gift.  The paper is from the S^E^I Bridgeport Collection.  The pewter color with the silver geometric design makes it look very masculine.  I used one of the WortArt tags I designed for Valentine’s Day on the front, along with some 1 1/4″ wide silver ribbon I’ve had for years.  I attached the tag with small Pop Dots to give the box some added dimension.  If you’d like the tags, please scroll down further in my blog and the file is there for you to download.

If you look at my February 1 post, you’ll see the scoring diagram for this box.  It’s the same as the SCAL 1 version.

Here is the link to this box.  Please help yourself.

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mnikwjod2lm

If you decide to use this, I’d love to see what you do with it!  Please leave me a comment so I know what you thought of the box.

I love Valentine’s Day, don’t you?