for your special valentine (SCAL 1)

Here is a box that I designed, based on a Lindt Box my husband received about a month ago.  I liked the shape and wanted to incorporate a few tiny changes to make it my own.

Will you be my Valentine?

The main part of the box is a cube that is 2 1/2″ square.  The only thing that holds it together is two pieces of tape (Scor-Tape, of course!) and the top flaps that fold and twist.  In the photo above, I embossed one of the boxes using my Cuttlebug Swirls folder.  This is the first time I did that, and I love the effect.  The bottom flaps fold and lock together without any assistance.  It took me awhile to figure out how to design those, but it was worth the effort.  You can fold the box flat and put it together in seconds when you need it.

Here is a screen shot with the score lines marked in blue.

The diagonal scorelines stop approximately half way across the top of each panel. You can make a light pencil mark on the inside if that makes it easier to see where to score.  All of the score lines are mountain folds EXCEPT for the four diagonal scores on the top.  They are valley folds.

Materials I used:

PAPER (12″ by 12″ sheets on your Cricut Expression)

American Crafts Romance card stock (striped box)

Best Occasions Metallic Paper Pack (purple box)  I also used a scrap of the bright pink for the decorative hearts on the striped version.

ADHESIVE

Scor-Tape (one 2 1/2″ piece, one 1″ piece)

TOOLS

Scor-Pal

Xyron (for putting adhesive on the extra hearts I used)

As you can see, I have cut some optional hearts to decorate the top flaps of the box.  They are included in the SCAL 1 file that is available for download.  Here is the link:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?yzygov5o2wc

I really hope you enjoy this box!  It was a wonderful challenge to design.  I’ve already used this box once for a New Year’s present.  What did I fill it with? Harry and David chocolate covered bing cherries.  It was hard not to eat the contents before it got to its intended recipient.

SPECIAL THANKS to Denise Hill for the idea about embossing the box.  Go visit her blog, Paper Pastime (http://paperpastime.com/).  She does wonderful work!

Posted on February 1, 2010, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations, sisterhood of the traveling boxes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Ann, thank you so much for the beautiful box file. I love the embossing idea! Thanks for sharing..

    Wishing you abundant blessings,
    Tami

  2. That is adorable! Love the embossing on the shiny one, too.

  3. Ann your new box is just beautiful. I love everything about it.
    Thanks for sharing it with us.

  4. i love your box. thank you for posting the file. i really enjoy reading your blog

  5. What a fun box! Perfect for Valentine truffles. Thank you.

  6. Thank you for this great little box. I have another that closes with hearts, but it is larger and a little more difficult to put together. This fits the bill for Valentine goodies perfectly! Thank you so much for sharing.
    Barbara

  7. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful box. Now i just need to think what to put in it….

  8. Your embossed box is beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

  9. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in CBH Digital Scrapbooking Freebies, under the Page 9 post on Feb. 20, 2010. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

