it’s guy thing..or maybe not (SCAL 1)

I started this project by designing a box to hold a flash drive that I bought a friend for her birthday.  I even had my friend’s name engraved on the flash drive so she would never lose it. The flash drive was sleek and stylish, so it seemed the box should be the same.

So here is the box.  It measures 4 inches across, 2 inches deep, and 1 inch tall.  It has a tab and slot closure in the front, as you can see in the photos.

My box design evolved from being a variation of an earlier design to something new and different.

A male friend saw the box design and said it would be great for Valentine presents for guys.  I cut the box from foil card stock and had to agree.

Then, I thought of all the February weddings that would be coming up, read about favor boxes, and it changed even more.

I’ve included a screen shot of the SCAL file that has the score lines in black.

PLEASE NOTE: Some of the score lines do not go all the way across the box. The horizontal score lines are either 1 inch or two inches apart – it should be obvious which ones are which.  All the folds are mountain folds EXCEPT the top horizontal fold.  That one is a valley fold and forms the liner for the bottom of the box. You may want to mark the placement of the score lines that fold over the front and back flaps before you score them, especially if you are using heavy paper.

You only need one piece of tape (Scor-tape of course!) to hold this box together.  Put it on the inside of one of the back tabs.  You don’t need any tape on the front tabs – the liner will hold them together, and you need to leave them without tape so the tab closure will easily slide into its place.

Of course, a flash drive isn’t the only thing you could put in this box. Other suggestions might include a watch, cuff links, a bracelet, a beautiful hair clip, heart candies, or just enough homemade fudge to satisfy. If you decide to use this for a favor box (wedding or otherwise), I’m sure you will discover lots of things that will fit inside.

MATERIALS I used:

PAPER

One 12″ by 12″ sheet of American Crafts Specialty Foil in silver (I LOVE the texture of this paper and it cuts beautifully on my Cricut Expression.  If you click on the photo, you can see the cool embossed surface up close.

NOTE: I think you could cut this from an 8 1/2″ by 11″ sheet of card stock if you are careful with the placement on your mat.

ADHESIVE

One 4-inch piece of Scor Tape

RIBBON

Two feet of 5/8″ wide Celebrate It Black, White, POP ribbon in fuchsia (from Michael’s in the dollar bin)

Here is the SCAL 1 file for this box. I’ll do the DS version as soon as I can reinstall the software on the Windows side of my Mac. It seems to have decided to go AWOL (sigh.)

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?c5lm0xeyyyn

Posted on January 27, 2010, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, sisterhood of the traveling boxes. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Your box is soooo beautiful, girl. That paper is awesome too. It’s a perfect match. Thanks for sharing the file with us. I appreciate it so much.

  2. Your box looks GREAT!!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing it!!!

  3. PJ (Jessie Adams)

    Super box, especially in that embossed metallic paper. Very versatile.
    Appreciate you sharing the file and directions.
    Glad to see another of your creations.

  4. Thank you so much for sharing! I love the box made from the foil cardstock-reminds me of the boxes from Nordstroms!

  5. Ann thank you so much for sharing your word art and your newest box file.. I can’t wait to start using all of your amazing creations..

  6. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in CBH Digital Scrapbooking Freebies, under the Page 9 post on Feb. 20, 2010. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

