still the holiday season…..(SCAL 1)

Who says you can’t go on celebrating even after Christmas Day?  I’ve always liked the idea of unexpected presents, so I just sent a few tonight.  (Amazon.com s a wonderful thing.)  I thought I’d also deliver a few small surprises to the staff members of a group I currently sing in.  That means I get to make more goodies and that is cause enough to celebrate.  Of course, I need something to put the stuff in, so here is what I came up with.  It is my version of a Harry and David box that contained some delicious chocolate covered fruit. (Note the past tense. Chocolate seldom lasts long in my house.)

As you can see, I incorporated an earlier project into this one, and added a small ribbon wreath to the front of the box.  This is the first time I have used this many embellishments on one of my boxes.  In addition to the wreath, I used snowflakes (from the Martha Stewart punch) and a double layered doodle tree cut from an svg file.  I fastened the wreath with glue dots, just enough to hold it there until the recipient wants to take it off after the goodies have been eaten.

Here is a side view so you can see how it looks.

I think this is the perfect box for some chocolate covered nuts, or perhaps some brittle.  I left the circular hole in the front uncovered since I will have a plastic bag inside holding the contents.  I used a Velcro closure on the back flap, but you could also use a magnetic closure, or a sticker.

The scorelines are pretty obvious, and you can use the flaps as a guide for these.  I would also suggest that you vertically score about two-thirds of the way down the middle of each side panel to make it easier to fold those panels.  Also, I scored twice across the top flap, and created a 1/8″ flat surface to make folding easier.  If this is not clear, just let me know and I’ll post a photo of the scorelines.

My box measures 3 1/2″ across the front and back, 1 1/2″ deep, and 7″ tall.  I made two files in SCAL 1, one with a 2″ circle cutout on the front, and one with no cutout.  Here they are.

Annie’s Tall Thin Candy Box with Circle Cutout:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mzhmg5myn3z

Annie’s Tall Thin Candy Box with Solid Front:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2gyiatagolq

Materials I used:

PAPER

BOX: Martha Stewart Create double sided paper pad in gray/pewter (one 12″ by 12″ sheet)

TREE: American Crafts Specialty Foil in green

TREE SHADOW: American Crafts Christmas Cardstock in green

SNOWFLAKES: Best Occasions Metallic Paper pack in silver

RIBBON

WREATH: Celebrate It Basic Narrows in red

ADHESIVES

Pop Dots (mini and medium) for the snowflakes and the tree

Zots (small) for the wreath

Scor-Tape to hold the box together

TOOLS

Cricut Expression

Martha Stewart snowflake punch

Scor Pal

I think I’ll make some of these boxes with different cutouts or decorations on the front for other holidays.  Wonder what I can put inside for Valentine’s Day?

Posted on December 28, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, home for the holidays, sisterhood of the traveling boxes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Your bag looks AWESOME!!! What a fun treat that will be to recieve!!!

  2. Nice bag!! Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    Yolie
    http://justyolie.blogspot.com/

  3. Great box!
    I love your embellishments, as well as your ideas for putting in the box.
    TFS
    Andrea

  4. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Box, Purses, etc. post on Dec. 30, 2009. Thanks again.

  5. Thank you for sharing your work! This looks like a fun box to use for Valentines, too! Thanks for the file.

  6. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in CBH Digital Scrapbooking Freebies, under the Page 11 post on Feb. 20, 2010. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

