valentines in SCAL

I love it when a box design is easy to duplicate in the other design software.  In this case the hardest part was trying to find just the right card stock to make it in.  I finally settled on silver foil because it provided just the right elegance for this design.  Here it is:

my Valentine box designed in SCAL

my Valentine box designed in SCAL

Just like the Design Studio version of this box, it has a 4.25″ square base and is 1″ in height.  You can’t really see it in the picture, but I used patterned vellum to line the top.  Here is a quick closeup photo of the top liner.Valentine box itop linerI’d love to find more of this type of paper.  It adds a cool decorative element to the box without a lot of effort.

SUPPLIES:

  • One 12″ x 12″ sheet of card stock (Best Occasions Metallic Paper Pack from Walmart – I love this stuff.)
  • Tape or other adhesive of your choice to adhere the flaps to the sides of the box (four 2″ strips)  and the liners (four 4″ strips for each liner) As usual, I used Scor-Tape.
  • Paper to line the top of the box (Mine came in a Best Occasions Mixed Media Pack.)
  • Paper to line the bottom of the box (optional)

NOTE: I did not have room to put the liners in the file for this box.  If you use SCAL, you can easily cut a 4.25″ square for these.  Just use the square shape and set the size.

Here is the SCAL 1 file for this box. Please help yourself.

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?tok2x5jhmmt

Now that I’ve finished both versions of this box, I need to concentrate on making something to fill it.  Preferably chocolate.

Posted on October 10, 2009, in designs by request, Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. What a pretty box you made. I love the silver paper you used. I’ve seen that at Walmart, and the next time I go, I’m going to get some of it.

  2. WOO WOO!!!!
    Thank you!
    I love it!!!
    **U**
    Nance

  3. Your website and talent are just awesome; I’m so glad you posted at craftedge and I found you!
    tfs,
    Donna

  4. Beautiful box!! Thank you!

  5. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Valentines post on Dec. 30, 2009. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

