oh christmas tree, oh christmas tree (SCAL)

In response to the nice requests from a few friends who read this blog (thank you!), here is my tiny gift box with a doodle Christmas tree on the hidden flap.XMAS Tree tiny box with tab

Like my other tiny gift box, this one has a 2″ square base and is 1″ in height.  If you look closely at the photo, you might notice that I lined the bottom with a piece of the card stock I used for this project.  The SCAL file includes the liner.  The card stock is American Crafts Specialty Paper Foil (in Emerald Green).  I love the American Crafts line because the papers are understated yet interesting,  This one has a texture that reminds me of tiny wailed corduroy, an interesting concept when combined with the foil finish.  The paper has a silver base, so if you want to experiment with distressing the edges, it has a cool effect.

The box can be cut from a 6″ by 12″ piece of Tiny XMAS tree cutout box Bcard stock, so you can cut two boxes from one 12″ by 12″ sheet.  Please use the tabs and sides as a guide for scoring.  I left the tree cutout unfilled, but you could add a small piece of vellum to line it if you wish.  The box needs only two small pieces of strong tape to hold the flaps together.  I recommend using relatively  stiff paper for this so it stands up by itself easily.  The tab will hold the box securely closed when placed in the front slot.

Please download the SCAL 1 file here:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zxqqytnyuvd

This box would look wonderful in the middle of each plate at Christmas time as a small favor box.  What to fill it with?  How about five golden rings?  Failing that, chocolate mints would do nicely, I think.

Posted on October 3, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, home for the holidays, midnight creations, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful box creations.. They are just amazing..

    Wishing you abundant blessings,
    Tami

  2. I just love your boxes. Thanks! And, I agree, those papers are the greatest for the boxes!

  3. i love your blog…… thanks for all of the files you share. i love the tree box and i will make some of them to put my familys favorite fudge in for each of them they would prefer a 10 pound box but——– this size is perfect.also i love your dandelion card. its very pretty. Well i love everything i saw lol

  4. Ann, sorry I am just catching up as we had a very busy weekend.

    I LOVE your darling little Christmas tree box and what a wonderful idea to use it for treats for our table Christmas day. I am doing that for sure and appreciate you sharing the file with us.

    I usually get our DIL and granddaughter a small piece of jewelry (not diamonds…lol) as an extra gift and your box would be the perfect wrap for them. So many ways to use it.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

    Big Hugs!

  5. I love your boxes….can you possibly make the Christmas Tree box in DS….I have a good friend who makes and gives away homemade fudge at Christmas and this box would be perfect for her to use….(and to give me fudge). I don’t as yet have SCAL…on my list, but don’t have it yet….thanks for considering it….

  6. PJ (Jessie Adams)

    Nice little box.
    The extra flap that covers the cut out is great because you can add a bow or other embellishment.

    TFS another fun file.

Leave a Reply

