boxed set (SCAL)

One night last week, I stayed up very late working on a gable box, just because I wanted one that was a bit different than what I had seen, and the concept intrigued me.  Little did I know how complicated it would be to design just the right length of the top panels and put the slots exactly where they needed to be.  After much experimentation, I finally found the right mathematical combination and it worked!  Once I designed a short gable box, it was easy to increase the height, so now I have a pair of them.  I really like how they came out.

Gable Boxed set A

I designed these in SCAL and used only three shapes: trapezoid (top handles, bottom outside flaps, tabs), rectangle (sides, slots for tabs, bottom inside flaps), and oval (top side flaps, slots in the top handles.)  Unlike other gable boxes I have seen lately, this one uses small tabs that are placed at a 60 degree angle to hook through the small slots in the oval flaps on either side of the handles.  If this seems like too much math to put up with, please understand that I love the opportunity to use the skills that my Honors Geometry teacher taught us.  When I taught kids, I always looked for real world connections to show that the stuff we were doing had a purpose.

On to the important stuff for crafters:

DIRECTIONS:

The scoring is pretty clear if you use the edges of the sides to guide you.  If it’s not obvious, please let me know and I’ll post a photo.  Be careful to carefully match the end flap to the sides in order for everything to line up correctly.  NOTE:  there are two horizontal score lines and four vertical score lines.

MEASUREMENTS:

Each box has a base that measures 3.5″ across and 2″ deep.

The short gable box has a main compartment that is 2.5″ tall.  The entire short box is 4.5″ tall when closed.

The tall gable box has a main compartment that is 4″ tall.  The entire tall box is 6″ tall when closed.

SUPPLIES:

Each box takes one 12″ by 12″ sheet of card stock.  I would recommend using card stock that is strong but also somewhat flexible in order to achieve the graceful curve of the handles that come together at the top.  The paper you use should take a crease easily.  I used card stock from The Paper Company for the short orange box, and Wausau Classic Card Stock (pearlized finish) for the tall yellow box.  Both of these are available at Target and Michaels.

I tend to like my boxes without embellishments, but please feel free to add anything you might like to these boxes.  I can imagine these in Christmas colors, and I’m sure I will make use of the short one for Halloween treats.

Each box takes three pieces of double sided tape to hold it together.  I recommend Scor-Tape.  It’s strong, really stays put, and the price is right.

Please download the SCAL 1 files through the links below:

ANNIE’S SHORT GABLE BOX: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?knwyomxltc2

ANNIE’S TALL GABLE BOX: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?libtwgd3rzn

Please leave me comments so I know you’ve been here.  And please send me pictures of the boxes you make from my designs – I’d love to see them!

Posted on September 28, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, midnight creations. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. These are awesome boxes. Thank you so much for sharing them with us.

  2. The boxes are terrific. thank you for sharing them with us.

  3. These are very nice and creating them in SCAL is not that simple! I always get stuck trying to move boxes around. Congratulations

    SusanE
    http://papasuecreative.blogspot.com

  4. Thanks again for sharing your boxes….I love boxes….I really love boxes…I don’t think a person can have too many boxes…

  5. I have enjoyed your blogsite and the many downloads for your box designs. I use Design Studio and have downloaded the ones that I am able to use. I am new to this and not sure what SCAL is. I have cut several boxes and they are just the perfect size for what you have made them for. Thanks so much…and looking forward to any new ones that you might add. 🙂

  6. PJ (Jessie Adams)

    Love these! Your honors math teacher would be proud :0)

    Hope to get the time to cut these and the wonderful brownie box you designed from my request.

    Thanks for sharing your files.

  7. Thanks for sharing these !! I can’t wait to start cutting them! We are making treats for our friends this Christmas and these will be perfect!

  8. thanks for all the boxes! I love your ideas. I’m using some of your boxes for Halloween treats! (and probably Christmas too)

  9. Many thanks for the boxes. Unfortunately, I cannot cut the scut file. I would be glad very much about instructions with photos.

  10. Omigosh—— it’s ALL fa-boo!!!! Thank you ! p.s. I wonder if there’s a way I can get your blog updates via email? I do the RSS, but email seems to be more convenient for me.

    • Hi there!

      I just added a widget to my blog so you can sign up for my mailing list. Then, you can receive email alerts.

      Ann

  11. Thank you so much for sharing the scut files for these boxes. Much appreciated!

  12. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

  13. Great blog. Just love the variety of fun boxes. Thanks!

  14. I tried cutting your gable boxes. They are all cutting apart. What Am I doing wrong? Help.. Tammy

  15. Aloha,
    Thank you so much for sharing your files, I love them all. I have not cut anything yet due to problem when I upgraded to SCAL v2.010. I tried cutting the gable box but the handle and the 2 small slits on the side are not cutting. When I tried to preview, the handle cut & the slits does not shows. Hopefully CraftEdge would be able to fix the problem.

    Thank you again.

    Fida

Leave a Reply

