what? it’s not a box?

Next month, I’m hoping to make a trip home to Tucson in order to see my family and attend my high school reunion.  Whether or not I make it will depend on how much work I can get done in the next few weeks.  Once I pay for my airline ticket, I’m committed, so decision time is here.

Last night, I thought about how much I want to go home, how much I need to be there just for a few days of peace under the turquoise skies, staring at the mountain ranges that surround the city.  I made a card to send a friend who is lucky enough to live there.  Here it is.

Western Saddle CardThis was entirely cut by hand, no Cricut involved.

Supplies:

Base: 8 1/2″ by 5 1/2″ piece of cardstock  (Staples 110 lb beige cover stock)

Orange layer (Cansons Expressions Papercraft in Bittersweet)

Ribbon (The Ribbon Collection 5/8″ wide in Sheer Ivory)

Brown layer (DCWV Metallic Stack in Brass)

Beige layer (more of the same cardstock as the base)

Saddle digistamp I made from a graphic I found on the Net

Rivets (Best Occasions Metal Dots in matte gold)

I used my Xyron to make each layer stick to the next one, except for the orange layer that I used double stick tape on.

If you look closely around the edge of the panel with the digistamp, you might see the double embossed frame I did with my Scor Pal.

Oh, how I want to go home..

Posted on September 9, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff, self-reflection. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your teardrop box. Has so many possibilities for use, especially wedding or baby…. thank you so much for sharing your cut files, it is really appreciated since I am a newbie and learing every day.

  2. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Betty

    http://mortgagecalculato-r.com

  3. I was touched by your story about going to Tucson. I live in Tucson and agree with your views of the mountains and skies. Your card is perfect for your friend in Tucson. Just beautiful. Enjoy your time home.

  4. What a great blog! thanks for sharing!
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

