Cheesecake, anyone?

One of the members of the Cricut forum asked me to design a special box to hold small cheesecakes she will be making for an upcoming birthday party.  Of course, I couldn’t resist the challenge and got to work last night on Design Studio.  I think it turned out very well.

The box bottom has a 5″ square base and is 2 1/2″ high.  The top is 2″ high so it’s easy to remove.   The box requires two 12″ by 12″ sheets of card stock and the Cricut Expression.  I cut the top out of designer paper (from the SEI Bridgeport paper pad.)   I cut the bottom out of plain white card stock.  The design is all in Plantin Schoolbook.

I used Scor-Tape to hold the box together.  I just started using this tape and am really impressed with the strength of it (and the price!)

I put little cutouts in the edges of the box top so it would be easy to lift off.  I designed the top to be a snug fit.  The cut file contains extra pages for pieces to line the top and bottom of the box.  I lined the top with acetate, but you could use vellum or a solid piece of paper you like the look of.

Here is a photo that shows both pieces of the box.

Cheesecake box B

Please let me know if you like my cheesecake box. I love when you leave me comments because I know you’ve been here and left with one of my little gifts for my friends.

If you would like to use this pattern, please help yourself to the Design Studio file.

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jzzmeot4zzk

(Is anyone out there willing to make me some cheesecake?  I think I’m hungry.)

Cheesecake box A

Posted on August 31, 2009, in designs by request, Hobbies and other fun stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. What a cute box. Thank you so much for sharing your hard work.

    Carol

  2. This is so cute, but I don’t have DS so I won’t be able to use your file, but wanted to tell you that I thought it was lovely.
    Hugs!

  3. Cute, cute box!!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Great work! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  5. Thanks for sharing your creations. I am going to download all your boxes, just in case I need them 🙂

    Carmen

  6. Thanks for the great ideas. You are so creative. Alll your projects look professional.

    Thanks,

    Kim

  7. I agree that her projects look professional. That is why I asked her to do this for me. I think she did a great job. And I am totally satisfied with what she did. Thank you Ann for doing such a great job.

  8. Love your beautiful box. Thanks so much for sharing.

  9. I love all of your boxes. I added your blog to my blog reader so I can check back often. Thanks for sharing the files.

  10. PJ (Jessie Adams)

    Oh, boy, cheesecake! Yummy.

    Another good design. Love your boxes.

    Thank you.

  11. You do a Super Fantastic job on all your boxes.

    Thank you for sharing your DS cut files.

  12. Thank you so much for sharing your hard work with us. I have no idea how you created this but what I do know is that your very talented.
    thank you thank you for sharing.

  13. I just love all your cute boxes, can I please ask if you can use this cut file in Scal1, I would love to make some of these boxes, but I do not have design studio.

    Hugs
    Jeannie

    • Please look in the article for each box I design. I will tell you what program it was designed in. I design all my SCAL boxes in SCAL 1, because SCAL 2 is not available for Macs yet.

      The cheesecake box was done in Design Studio. If I get time, I will design my DS boxes in SCAL.

Leave a Reply

