a DS box just perfect for….

…two brownies for your favorite person.  Or if they are really special, homemade fudge (YUM.)

Several months ago, I saw a small box made to hold a huge piece of chocolate, and I thought…well, I wouldn’t give anyone a piece of chocolate THAT big, but I might use it for something else.  Then I got the idea for a miniature bakery box, something that reminded me of when my mother used to take me to an old fashioned bakery to buy treats when I was little.  If you look on an earlier post, you will see the box I designed then in two sizes.  Someone told me that they didn’t have the Calligraphy Collection cartridge, so tonight I redesigned this box with Plantin Schoolbook and Accent Essentials.  If you don’t have Accent Essentials, you can take out the swirl on the top and substitute something else.  I just thought the swirl made it look cute :).  So, here is the result.  NOTE: this box is NOT the Cupcake candle box that is 2 1/4″ inch high.  I’ll redesign that soon so the flaps are not done with CC.

Swirl cutout box 2 1:2 inch base

Swirl Cutout Box 2 1-2 inch base B

It has a 2 1/2 inch square base and is approximately 1 3/4″ high.

If you want to get fancy, you can tie it up with a pretty ribbon like this.

If I didn’t use ribbon, I would close it with clear circle tabs.

Either way, it will make a great small gift box and make someone you love very happy to receive it.

Here is the link to the Design Studio cut file for this box:

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?nmmernj0rwu

NOTE: My cut file has a second page that has 2 1/2″ square pieces that you can use to reinforce the bottom of the box.  You can also use the page to cut the acetate for the top.

Materials I used:

One sheet of 12″ by 12″ double sided card stock (from the Martha Stewart Baby Girl Multimedia pad)  You can also cut this box from an 8 1/2″ by 11″ sheet of card stock – just be careful how you place the sheet on your Cricut mat.

One 2 1/2″ square piece of acetate to tape underneath the swirl

Double stick tape to hold the flaps to the sides of the box (your choice of tape, depending on the weight of what’s inside)

Ribbon (optional) from Hallmark

Enjoy it, and please let me know what you made with this cut file!

Posted on August 21, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. What a cute box! TFS!

  2. 😦
    I was here but don’t have any cartridges.
    I love the box.
    You do the cutest things.
    **U**
    Nance

    • Thanks so much, Nance!

      When I get some time, I’ll start converting the DS files to SCAL and vice versa, so anyone who has either program can use them. It may be awhile, though – I have 6 nights of rehearsals and performances next week!

      Ann

  3. What a super box! It will come in handy for making goodies for the football team.

    Thanks for sharing your cut file.

  4. How wonderful! Thank you for sharing. I can’t wait to try it.

  5. Wow, I love your boxes. Thank you so much for sharing your hard work with us.

    Carol

  6. You do very nice work. Thanks so much for sharing.

  7. PJ (Jessie Adams)

    Sweet!!
    I love your boxes. Please keep on designing :0)
    And thank you for sharing.

  8. thank you it’s very nice

  9. Love your boxes! Do you have them in svg? Thanks,
    Karen

  10. thanks for this file, the box is lovely and so useful.

  11. Thank You for sharing! I downloaded a few of your boxes, I see myself making Christmas packaging soon. Your so clever.

  12. Ann,
    My scrap friends were talking just last evening about little boxes
    and making some for Christmas gifts.
    Wow! Talk about reading my mind! This was the first e-mail I opened this morning.
    I downloaded several, all were great but for now a few will do.
    I will pass your site onto my friends so they can see also.
    Thank you so very much for all your hard work and SHARING with
    us less talented.
    P

    • Thank you for the compliments! Please send your friends to this site. The more, the merrier!

      I also take design requests and have done several lately.

      Ann

Leave a Reply

