remembering a life

This day started and stopped very suddenly.  The morning paper had news of the death of one of the singers/Board members in the group I administer.  All day, members wrote back and forth about how what a shock this was.  I remember thinking that this man looked very ill the last time I saw him.  I had to send out a notice to the entire chorus about this and found it hard to write the words.

The service is tomorrow and several of our singers will attend.  I have sung in too many funerals over the last few years and am relieved to be merely an observer in this one.

The older I get, the more that death seems less a curiosity and more of a warning: embrace each day and find time to do the importnat things iin life.

I’ve had a very hard time working today.

I need to go hug my husband.

Posted on May 11, 2009, in self-reflection. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

