using spare time I don’t have

In my few spare moments, I have become a midnight crafter.  Earlier in my life, I had made jewelry but this is something entirely new.  I purchased a cutting machine (the one with the green bug on it) last fall and started using it for Christmas projects.  I became so addicted to it that I bought a bigger, more advanced version in January.  So far I have learned to use three new pieces of software in the process so I can design things on my computer.  Since then, I have become a too frequent customer of the local crafts stores.  I even had to rearrange my home office to accommodate the crafts crap (as my husband calls my necessary supplies.)  My favorite activities right now are designing boxes and greeting cards.  In the process of searching for tutorials and ideas on the Internet, I have joined a few craft forums and met many people who I would normally not have known.  It is truly amazing how much talent there is out there, and how many more people work from home than I ever imagined.

Here are some examples of boxes I have designed:

I usually fill these with treats for friends and fellow singers.

I usually fill these with treats for friends and fellow singers.

And here is my latest card.  The shiny appearance is because the front is covered with an acetate sheet.  (This is the first time I have used this material on a card, so I have not quite mastered the invisible adhesive part.)

Hopefully, this wil make a sick friend feel a bit better.

Hopefully, this wil make a sick friend feel a bit better.

Doing this keeps me sane.

Posted on May 10, 2009, in Hobbies and other fun stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have admired your dandelion card. Is there a cut file available for it? I would love to have it, if available. Thank you for sharing your talents. I love collecting box files such as yours.

    Hugs, Trish

Leave a Reply

